The Way I See It Series by L.B. Tillit

Engaging reluctant readers since 2012!


Read Individual Stand-Alone Books OR Full Series?

More Info…>

The Way I See It Books

So what? Why should I care about your life if it doesn’t have to do with mine? To be real, you don’t have a clue on how bad it can get. As their world falls apart, the teens from Hancock High find that truth is not always clear. Will they be ready to accept help from the most unexpected places?

Ozzie – Book 1

“In the interactions of these various characters, Tillit effectively addresses such issues as bigotry, homelessness, and mental health . . . Over the course of this novel, Tillit deftly weaves a story of hope into an account of typical high school challenges . . . Overall, the story is engaging without being preachy, which will appeal to many YA readers. . . A thoughtful tale of finding hope amid life’s trials.”

— Kirkus Reviews

Ozzie believes if he ignores all the voices in his head then he’ll make it. He’ll be what everyone expects him to be: Hancock High’s football all-star. But when the chance comes for him to prove who he really is, he becomes numb and doesn’t care about who may be hurt, as long as the comments don’t attack him. But Ozzie’s silence begins to impact those around him. As Ozzie’s world begins to fall apart, the voices in his head remain strong. If he takes a stand for anything, will it even matter? Or worse, if he does speak, will he cause more harm than good?

  • Lexile Level: HL580L
  • Interest Level: Young Adult

Deals with mental health/suicidal thoughts / Confronts harassment / Touches on racism and stereotyping / Encourages self-reflection / Provides homelessness awareness / Broadens viewpoints while providing hope 

Order The Way I See It: Ozzie by L. B. Tillit

Zonta – Book 2
by L. B. Tillit

Just deal with it! It’s part of growing up. It’s the way guys are! Zonta tries to blow off the unwanted attention that is thrown her way. But it’s not working. Zonta is tired of being nice! It doesn’t matter how polite she is, or how hard she tries, she still feels alone. And if that wasn’t enough, every time she tries to explain herself or her thoughts, she ends up feeling dumb. She tries to do what is right, what is expected, but it only makes things worse. Is there really no one who cares enough to help? Is there no one who gets her?

  • Lexile Level: HL570L
  • Interest Level: Young Adult

Empowers resistance to sexual harassment / Addresses impact of ADHD / Dives into the need to be heard/taken seriously / Introduces role of self-defense / Touches on bi-racial upbringing / Underscores the importance of healthy friendships

Order Order The Way I See It: Zonta by L. B. Tillit

Blake – Book 3
by L. B. Tillit

Blake has a secret – a secret his mother has asked him not to share. If Blake can act normal, then no one will treat him differently. But Blake can’t shake the way others view him after the racist comments he made months earlier. To make things worse, fallout from a terrible attack on a student in his school turns his world upside down. Suddenly alone, Blake has only one hope left: wrestling. Can he win back his friends? Will people even believe his side of the story? Will his secret be safe, or should he defy his mother and let people know who he really is? As Blake faces his fears, he must also find a way to face his best friend who is suddenly his worst enemy.

  • Lexile Level: HL590L
  • Interest Level: Young Adult

Dives into the neurodivergent mind of someone with Autism / Addresses the destructive force of bullying and peer pressure / Introduces low-income family dynamics, strengths, and challenges / Embraces uniqueness and celebrates differences / Focuses on building healthy friendships

Order The Way I See It: Blake by L. B. Tillit

Emma – Book 4
by L. B. Tillit

Emma is pissed at the world. She has to be perfect, like her brother. But she won’t! She can’t be! Emma finds a reason to dislike most people. Yet, she is drawn to Blake, someone she used to hate. Without thinking it through she finds herself at the wrestling championship, hoping Blake feels the same way. But his world is very different from hers and she begins to wonder what she is doing. Her best friend, Billy, pushes Emma to look at why she makes bad choices. Emma refuses to listen to Billy and wrestles with a dark family secret as her anger spirals out of control.

  • Lexile Level: HL570L
  • Interest Level: Young Adult

Provides an Asian- American perspective / Deals with anger and judgment / Faces stereotyping and racism / Embraces differences between cultures / Addresses academic struggles / Provides homelessness awareness / Broadens viewpoints

Order The Way I See It: Emma by L. B. Tillit

Mateo – Book 5
by L. B. Tillit

Don’t draw attention to yourself! Blend in and stay quiet.  It is how Mateo has been raised. Being chill and a loner at Hancock High has become his identity. But he is tired of it! He knows he needs to protect his community, but does that mean he should remain silent when something is clearly wrong? He knows that if he speaks out then people could be hurt. But if he doesn’t do something, someone he really cares about may continue to suffer. He hates that he can’t help his friend, but he doesn’t know how. He doesn’t know who to turn to. Who can he trust? He holds onto the one thing that he does best, sing and shred his guitar. Mateo dives into his music, a safe place, a place where he can stand out and not worry. But when his rock band faces their first battle of the bands, Mateo has to face reality. He can no longer stay quiet.

  • Lexile Level: HL570L
  • Interest Level: Young Adult

Provides a Mexican-American perspective / Touches on challenges immigrants face / Reveals struggles with fighting injustice / Faces stereotyping and racism / Addresses physical abuse / Focuses on building healthy friendships / Broadens viewpoints while embracing diversity

Order The Way I See It: Mateo by L. B. Tillit

More on The Way I See It Series:

Lilly – Book 6
by L. B. Tillit

The final book, still in the writing process. Subscribe to be notified when it comes out.

Read Individual Stand-Alone Books OR Full Series?

Benefits to reading the books as a stand-alone:

• Able to pick a book or topic of interest.

• Still enjoy a complete story line.

Benefits to reading the books as a series:

• Experience variety of perspectives.

• Gain deeper understanding of the plot lines.

Published by My Easy Read Books